Recent Reflection

I’d like to apologize for being MIA these past few days but I was out of town helping my sister recover from hand surgery.  Yes, I did have an internet connection and yes, publishing a post was not out of the realm of possibility, but in addition to reporting for big sister duty, I was also on mommy duty as the Coastie was on actual military duty-and alas this post was born.

I’d venture to say that this is not an uncommon occurrence among military spouses; an unexpected situation arises, (in my case, my sister’s last minute hand surgery) I was called into action, and the Coastie was unable to get last minute leave.  Left with no other choice I packed our bags (and pack n’ play, and booster seat and stroller and toys, etc.) and headed off on the four-hour drive with my child (and a good portion of our belongings) in tow.

You may be reading this thinking- oh boohoo… you’re a mom, get over it!  And yes, sometimes when I reflect on the situation I think the same thing, I even considered not writing this post at all.  Yet other times I think, I cannot be the only military spouse who has had military duty dictate their increased responsibility and stress level!  Why not share my experience?  Also, I can’t help but think that my “nursing job” could have been a little easier if only the Coastie had a “regular-9-to-5-weekdays-only” job; he could have taken a few last minute vacation days and stayed at home with our daughter while I traveled alone to take care of my sister.  You could also be thinking, Assuming your sister is an adult herself, she couldn’t have been that bad off.  Stepping into my sister’s shoes for a moment, imagine how having only one hand with which to work makes completing even the easiest everyday task nearly impossible.  I don’t think I have mentioned that it is her right hand that is out of commission… and she is right-handed- so there’s that!  Forget the fact that she cannot drive, she cannot even open her bottle of pain medication!  Her temporary inability to do much of anything transformed me from a mother of one to a mother of two in a matter of one surgical hour.

At any rate, I concluded it was appropriate to write about this recent situation since my blog is primarily about my life’s happenings as a military spouse.  Recall, would you, my first post about why I believe there should be basic training for military spouses.  Well, this could fall under Section 1: You Will Become Gumby, with a sub-section in Part-Time Single Parenting.

This past week has been trying at times but has also presented itself as a learning experience.  On the bright side, it was nice to be able to spend a little extra time with my sister and I got a taste of what it could be like to be a mother of two!

 ~ Lauren


One thought on “Recent Reflection

  1. Kate Dunphy says:

    How sweet your time must have been with your sister and LO, even if it was filled with lots of motherly duties. God’s gift of family is a treasure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

